Two Cultures in the House

The two cultures in the house have nearly melted into one after 8 years but there are still amusing and sometimes difficult issues that arise when my Singapore Chinese husband and American Caucasian me try to make wise decisions together.

Currently the two Eurasian boys in the house both think they are Spider Man at various times. At this very moment, they have turned our study/guest room into a playground. They had a queen sized mattress leaning up against the sofa, forming a ‘mountain’ to climb. The mountain has since collapsed and been magically transformed into a trampoline.

This is our 5th month of officially having our own homeschool in the house. It’s hard to evaluate how things have been going up to this point. We’ve been learning more about anger management than math, more about obedience than phonics. This is one of the main reasons we homeschool–not to de-emphasize academics but to put character development in it’s proper place.

This blog is really just for me to have a space to air my need to write. this is my second attempt at blogging but again the hope is to ‘write away’ a dull spirit, to refocus on reflecting on what’s going on in my life and the lives of those around me so that I do not lose sight of my purpose here on earth. To love the Lord my God with all my heart, soul and strength and to love my neighbor as myself. Writing helps me remember what it is I’m supposed to be all about.

One response to this post.

  1. Very nice Heather! Lol..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

