Time to spend

Here it is 8:27pm–according to the imac clock–my husband is reading to the boys, who will be asleep soon, and I am faced with a myriad of choices.

Question: Should I…

a. Continue working on the ironing pile?

b. Start planning for the Cradle Roll Sunday school teachers meeting?

c. Prepare the activity sheet for this Friday’s playgroup?

d. Get tomorrow’s tutoring materials ready?

e. Read a book for pleasure?

f. Read a book to help prepare for the Youth camp talk?

g. Work on plans and communiques for the Homeschool concert?

h. Wash the dishes?

Answer: Your guess is a good as mine.

I am a chronic biting-off-more-than-I-can-chew-er and so I often face such to-do lists when I have a little ‘free’ time. Sometimes, I base the decision about what to do next on what I like. At other times, when I force myself to use reason alone, I choose the thing that is most urgent or the thing that comes soonest on the calendar. And when neither emotions nor logic help me to find an answer, I pray. Now really, for a Christian, this process should *start* with prayer rather than run the gambit of human wisdom and then turn to God when all else fails.

So, once again I am back to the battle between flesh and spirit. Lord, help me to choose the one needful thing.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Wash the dishes while thinking about the agenda for the Sunday school teachers meeting. Hang up the dishcloth, write a post it to remind self to work on plan for Homeschool concert tomorrow and stick it on the fridge. Work on the activity sheet for the playgroup. When done, set out tomorrow’s tutoring materials and then read the book to help prepare for the Youth camp talk to sleep.
    Ironing….blah. Can wait. 😉
    I know…I can’t stand me too….hehehe!

    Reply

  2. Posted by twoculturemom on October 29, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    Welcome to today’s episode of TwoCultureMom’s Life…co-starring iwonderbee as The Voice of Reason. 😉
    Wow, what a plan! In the end, I straightened up the study room and then went to bed. A looming headache made the rest of the list irrelevant.

    Reply

  3. The Lord decided that the one needful thing was…rest!
    Hope you’re better.

    Reply

  4. Posted by adeline on November 4, 2009 at 11:27 pm

    hey hi heather …. for some reason i’ve only recently discovered your blog. actually i’ve only recently been on facebook more often lah : )

    well – another way of keeping in touch with yours and your household !

    saves my sms bill ; )

    trust that you got enough done. i’m impressed that you find time to read !!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

