What we’re reading–June 2010

What can I say? I love to read. I love books of all kinds. I feast on good literature. My life is enriched by a good story. So here’s what I have piled up by my bed at the moment:

Knowing God by J.I. Packer

I pulled this off the shelf a few weeks ago when I realized I was in need of a spiritual turn around. This hasn’t been an easy book to read, especially when I had been feeling very distant from God…but easy books don’t help me grow. Here’s a quote: ” What makes life worth while is having a big enough objective, something which catches our imagination and lays hold of our allegiance; and this the Christian has, in a way that no other man has. For what higher, more exalted, more compelling goal can there be than to know God?  pg. 30

War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy

Huh? Okay, I must confess, I really just want to read this so that I can say that I’ve read it. It’s been sitting on my shelf for several years. I’ve started it several times but never finished it. I thought I should read the books I have first before getting more from the library. I’m proud to announce, that while I haven’t been reading consistently, I have made it all the way to page 65.

Teaching the Trivium by Harvey & Laurie Bluedorn

A friend gave me this book and I thought it a good thing to read for the sake of research about homeschooling. It’s not the most enjoyable book I’ve read  on homeschooling, and I’m not particularly interested in the philosophy behind classical education. However, I am trying to glean what I can from it in terms of stages learning that children go through and how and when to approach various subjects. I’m hoping the writers will convince me one way or the other about including Latin, maybe Greek in our homeschool.

With the boys we are mostly following the Ambleside Online year 2 reading list and #2 son’s requests.

Farmer Boy by Laura Ingalls Wilder

We’ve read this before, but when I saw it on the list of free reading for AO Year 2, I couldn’t resist reading it to the boys again. We’re about halfway through and often find ourselves feeling hungry after reading the many descriptions of the homecooked food the family ate. These people really worked, so when mealtime came there was no such thing as a fussy eater. The children were HUNGRY (especially the boys) and they ate everything given to them with gusto!  #1 son has been most impressed that Almanzo Wilder didn’t have to go to school until he was 9 years old. My how times have changed.

The Frog and Toad Treasury by Arnold Lobel

These stories are some of the best for early readers. We’ve been reading aloud to #2 son, with him helping us when he knows the words. All the stories use simple language but are cleverly written and often hilarious.

Of course there is more…but this list constitutes the bulk of the current bedtime reading!

Leave a Reply

