Staying at Home

My current status or title or position in life is a STAY AT HOME MOM. In the blogosphere and elsewhere in the cyber world, we are referred to by the acronym SAHM. This week we’ve been out so much I think I almost lost the title. Now I am seeing the effects on me and the rest of the family. It’s not the first time I’ve overcommitted or stayed out longer than originally planned, or erred on the side of doing too much when trying to provide rich or fun activities for the boys. The tell tale signs have all appeared–laundry is backed up, #2 is falling sick after eating out too much, the SAHM mom is getting edgy, the tv has been on too much, we always seem to be in a rush, things like Bible reading that require focused thinking are getting shoved to the end of each exhausting day.

To be perfectly honest, I LIKE staying at home. I don’t feel the need to go out every day. A walk outdoors is fine but those long trips out (as most of them are) really wear me down. I’m making efforts to simplify.  I’m looking at my commitments and ruthlessly deciding what might have to go. I’m fasting from Facebook (and may never go back). I hate to let people down or to back out on plans (I *really* wanted to see that good friend off at the airport at 4:30am but just could not do it) so I often keep going until I reach a breaking point and then do nothing at all for a while. I’m trying to slow things down now before reaching that point.

We are coming to the end of our first 12-week school term and I am looking forward to a planned week off of school. We’ll be going to the zoo one day and I have some time reserved for planning term 2. I’m hoping we can spend most of the week just enjoying being at home.

Leave a Reply

